ARTIST-IN-RESIDENCE PROGRAMME IN IRELAND

Glenkeen Garden Residencies

We’re currently living in an era of redefining how people relate to nature. Art plays a special role in this process: it has the potential to tread new ground and generate ideas. That’s why the Crespo Foundation has initiated a programme that gives artists the ideal setting where they can address the topic: the Glenkeen Garden Residencies – ArtNature/NatureArt on the south coast of Ireland.

Glenkeen Garden Residencies

For whom?
Art collectives

Aim
Artistically exploring the relationship between human beings, nature and art 

Duration
Three months, twice a year 

Location
Glenkeen Garden, West Cork, Ireland

Artists-in-residence in Ireland

Twice a year, from March to June and August to November, the Crespo Foundation invites art collectives to Glenkeen Garden so that they can source inspiration from the location. While living and working in Glenkeen Garden for those three months, the artists take part in an interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary exchange about human beings, art and nature, aided by access to a local network of scholars from the humanities and natural sciences.


The location

Glenkeen Garden is a site of around 10 hectares on the coast of West Cork. Extending down to the shore of Roaringwater Bay, it is embedded in a unique landscape of archetypal Irish willows and pristine nature. The founder Ulrike Crespo (1950–2019) found the garden an inspirational place where she could work. Its design creates various zones that have been enhanced by sculptures from well-known sculptors. 

‘A garden changes every day, just like life. Something that’s there today is different tomorrow, or it’s already disappeared. But something else comes along instead. That’s connected with us too. One thing is already gone, but then something new starts in a different spot.’ 

ulrike-crespo-c-privat.jpg
Ulrike Crespo, founder

THE RESIDENCIES IN NUMBERS

10

hectares of landscape

10

members of the jury

5

partners

GLENKEEN GARDEN RESIDENCIES ON VIDEO

72_webcf_2000.jpg

Christiana Cheiranagnostaki – Konstanza Kapsali, ‘Glenkeen Garden’, 2023, all rights reserved

84.jpg

PARTNERS

Glenkeen Garden Residencies is a Crespo Foundation programme in cooperation with the Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung (SGN) in Frankfurt and the Environmental Research Institute (ERI) at University College Cork in Ireland.

CONTACT

Ben Livne Weitzman
Crespo Foundation

Artist-in-Residence-Programm in Irland

Glenkeen Garden Residencies

Wir befinden uns in einer Phase, in der das Verhältnis des Menschen zur Natur neu definiert wird. Hierbei kommt der Kunst eine besondere Rolle zu: Sie hat das Potenzial, neue Wege zu beschreiten und Ideen zu erzeugen. Die Crespo Foundation hat deshalb ein Programm gestartet, das Künstler:innen einen idealen Ort zur Bearbeitung dieses Themas bietet: die „Glenkeen Garden Residencies – ArtNature/NatureArt“ an der Südküste Irlands.

Glenkeen Garden Residencies

Für wen?
Kunstkollektive

Ziel
Künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit der Beziehung von Mensch, Natur und Kunst

Dauer
Drei Monate, zweimal im Jahr

Ort
Glenkeen Garden, West Cork, Irland

Artists-in-Residence in Irland

Zweimal im Jahr, von März bis Mai und von August bis November, lädt die Crespo Foundation Kunstkollektive nach „Glenkeen Garden“ ein, damit sie sich von dem Ort inspirieren lassen. Die Künstler:innen wohnen und arbeiten für drei Monate in „Glenkeen Garden“ und treten dabei in den inter- und transdisziplinären Austausch über Mensch, Kunst und Natur. Hierfür können sie auf ein lokales Netzwerk aus Geistes- und Naturwissenschaftler:innen zugreifen.


Der Ort

„Glenkeen Garden“ ist ein rund 10 Hektar großes Gelände an der Küste West Corks, das sich bis ans Ufer der Roaringwater Bay erstreckt und in eine einmalige Landschaft aus typisch irischen Weiden und ursprünglicher Natur eingebettet ist. Der Garten war Inspirations- und Arbeitsort der Fotografin und Stiftungsgründerin Ulrike Crespo (1950–2019). Er ist gestalterisch in verschiedene Zonen gegliedert und mit Skulpturen namhafter Künstler:innen bespielt.

„Ein Garten ist jeden Tag verändert, wie das Leben. Was heute da ist, ist morgen anders oder bereits wieder verschwunden. Dafür kommt das nächste. Das hat auch mit uns zu tun. Das eine ist vergangen, an anderer Stelle fängt etwas Neues an.“

ulrike-crespo-c-privat.jpg
Ulrike Crespo, Stifterin

Die Residencies in Zahlen

10

Hektar Landschaft

10

Jurymitglieder

5

Partner

Glenkeen Garden Residencies im Video

72_webcf_2000.jpg

Christiana Cheiranagnostaki - Konstanza Kapsali, „Glenkeen Garden“, 2023, all rights reserved

84.jpg

Partner:innen

„Glenkeen Garden Residencies“ ist ein Programm der Crespo Foundation in Kooperation mit der Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung (SGN) in Frankfurt am Main und dem Environmental Research Institute (ERI) am University College Cork in Irland.

Ansprechpartner

Ben Livne Weitzman
Crespo Foundation